Vietnamese Ethnic Groups

  • Vietnamese Ethnic Groups
    At present there are 54 different ethnic groups inhabiting Vietnam, in which Kinh (Viet) people make up nearly 90% of the whole population, and 53 other ethnic groups represent over 10%.
  • The Viet ethnic group
    The Viet have their own language and writing system. Vietnamese belongs to the Viet-Muong language group (of the Austroasiatic language family).
  • The Muong ethnic group
    Customs and habits: In former days, the "lang dao" system characterized Muong society. The "lang dao" ruled the Muong regions. A head of a "muong" was a "lang cun", "lang xom", or "dao xom".
  • The Tay ethnic group
    Language: Tay language belongs to the Tay-Thai language group (Tai-Kadai language family)
  • The Nung Ethnic Group
    Language: The Nung language belongs to the Tay-Thai language group (Tai-Kadai language family), and is in the same group with the Tay, Thai, and Choang of China.
  • The Thai ethnic group
    The Thai originated from inland Southeast Asia where their ancestors have lived ancient times.
  • The H'mong Ethic
    Language: The Hmong speak a language that belongs to the Hmong – Dao language family.
  • The Dao ethnic group
    Dao people originally came from China, immigrating between the 12th or 13th century and the early 20th century.
  • The Cham ethnic group
    The Cham, who have lived along the coast of central Vietnam for a long time, possess a rich culture profoundly influenced by Indian culture. Until the 17th century, the Cham had successfully maintained their own nation, known as Cham Pa.
  • The Bahnar Ethnic Group
    The Bahnar are long-term inhabitants of Truong Son-Tay Nguyen central highlands. They have created a unique local culture and their own socio-culture identity, perform a charming Vietnamese Culture.